Cover 9781785902444

Biteback Publishing is delighted to announce a major new project, a two volume series of biographies of every female MP ever to be elected to the House of Commons.

On December 14 1918 Countess Markievicz became the first woman to be elected to the House of Commons. She was elected for Sinn Fein, but never took her seat. Eleven months later, Nancy, Lady Astor, became the first woman to be elected and to take her seat. One hundred years later, 454 other women followed in their stead.

The book’s co-editors, Biteback publisher Iain Dale, and former Home Secretary Jacqui Smith, are commissioning biographical essays on each of the 456 ‘Honourable Ladies’. Each of the contributors will be female.

Volume I will contain profiles/biographies of the 169 female MPs to sit in the House of Commons between 1918 and 1997 and will be published in hardback in October 2018.

Volume II will contain profiles/biographies of the 287 female MPs first elected between 1997 and 2019 and will be published in November 2019. 

Share this book

Buy this book

  • Hardback, 560 pages
  • ISBN: 9781785902444
  • 8 November 2018
    Available to pre-order
  • £30.00

Similar titles:

The Honourable Ladies: Volume II
People Like Us
Exceeding My Brief
Theresa May